歡迎新來者的
聖經背景

IMG_5145 (1).JPG

聖經中一個連貫的主題就是要求神的子民歡迎新來者。這 重要性自然地在古代近東的遊牧生活中產生,這也是舊約 的處境,並一路延伸至教會遍及羅馬帝國的時候,而這就 是新約的處境。離家很遠的旅者在普遍有敵意的環境中, 需要保護和供應才可生存。在新約和舊約的時期,接待新 來者不單是道德責任,更是神聖的職責。

 

三個最重要讓我們明白這個聖經命令的經文是創世記18章1 至16節、約翰福音和馬太福音25章31至46節。在創世記18 章,我們讀到亞伯拉罕和撒拉接待三位神秘客旅到他們家 的故事。接受過族長和其家族大方的款待後,客旅們以撒 拉將於來年懷孕的好消息作為答謝。這個出乎意料的祝福 是他們接待客旅們的結果,而他們原來是上天來的客旅, 帶來神聖的同在。這個故事源自古代一個信念神訪(譯者譯,原為theoxeny)– 即天神們會偽裝成人到訪人間,測 試人心是否真誠。這樣,亞伯拉罕和撒拉就透過接待之舉 得到神聖的祝福和上帝應許的實現。這情節再一次在希伯 來書13章2節的命令中出現:「不可忘記用愛心接待旅客, 因為曾經有人這樣做,在無意中接待了天使。」

 

在約翰福音,耶穌被描繪成一個從上天而來的非凡陌生 人。 1 衪道成肉身來到世上,但世人不認識衪 (約翰褔音 一10),衪的身分是個奧祕。在約翰褔音,我們可以不斷看到耶穌極致的好客款待行為,在在彰顯出神聖的臨在:衪是神的兒子和世界之救贖主的身分 。 

 

例如在迦拿婚宴,耶穌透過為筵席提供美酒,衪的身分由賓客變成主人(約二1-11)。透過擔當 新郎這具象徵性的角色,衪彰顯出衪的榮耀,門徒都相信了衪。在另一個場景,耶穌大膽地向 一名撒瑪利亞婦人求水喝(約四4-42),衪再一次倒轉了角色,透過向她提供「活水」,婦人相 信了耶穌,祂就是等待以久的彌賽亞。餵飽5000人的神蹟(約六1-14)再讓耶穌展現祂神聖的款 待。耶穌透過為飢餓群眾提供生命食糧,耶穌對所有拿和吃這食糧的人顯示出他既是永生的恩 賜,亦是它的源頭。後來在耶穌和門徒的最後晚餐,耶穌的款待令跟隨者驚訝(約十三1-17), 祂做的就是為賓客洗腳。這通常是由奴隸或僕人做的,從來不會由主人來做。透過擔當奴僕的角 色,耶穌預備門徒衪將在十架犧牲的事,並吩咐他們應當彼此相愛,如同衪愛他們一般。Joshua Jipp 精確地概括了耶穌的使命:「這來自天堂的陌生人的使命,就是要彰顯神,讓我們認識祂, 並教導全人類如何與神建立關係,獲得救贖的知識。」

 

 在馬太福音25章最後審判的比喻中,為接待新來者帶來了新的亮光,在這裡,人子坐著為王在末 世時出現,如牧羊人般把山羊和綿羊分隔開。他稱讚那些在他最危難的時候照顧他的人為公義— 「我流浪在外,你們留我住。」(第35節)他們被接到天國裡去。當在他右邊的人驚訝地問他們 何時作過這些善行時,王這樣回答:「我實在告訴你們,這些事你們做在我弟兄中一個最小的身 上,就是做在我身上了。」(第40節)如是者,左邊那些被送往永刑的人被控拒絕為王在危難的 時候提供協助。他們也表示驚訝,並說他們並未曾遇到王落在這樣的危難中,王回答說:「我實 在告訴你們,這些事你們沒有做在任何一個最小的弟兄身上,就是沒有做在我身上了。」(第45 節)

 

這段話顯著地描繪了神訪或神的到臨同時是正面和負面的。基督以一個有需要的客旅來測驗凡人 的品格,也根據他們之前如何對待偽裝的他而審判。那些通過測試的人不單會被獎賞,更獲得永 恆的生命。相應地,那些不能通過測試的也會被懲罰。在審判日,行為比言語更有說服力。美國 學者Christine Pohl稱馬太福音25章31至46節為整個基督教待客之道傳統中最重要的一段,就是 它能「個人地及強而有力地將接待人與關懷耶穌連繫起來。」

BIBLICAL REFLECTION FOR WELCOMING STRANGERS

One consistent theme in the Bible is the need for God’s people to welcome strangers. This emphasis naturally arose from the nomadic life of the ancient Near East,  which  was the setting of the Old Testament, and it continued as the Church spread throughout the Roman Empire, which was the setting of the New Testament. Travelers far away from home needed protection and provision in order to survive in often hostile environments. In both the Old and New Testament periods, hospitality to strangers was expected not only as a moral obligation but also as a sacred duty.

Three significant Scriptures for understanding this biblical man- date are Genesis 18:1–16, the Gospel of John, and Matthew 25:31–46. In Genesis 18, we read the story of Abraham and Sarah welcoming three mysterious visitors into their home. After receiving lavish hospitality from the patriarch and his family, the visitors return the favor with the good news that Sarah would bear a son in the coming year. This unexpected blessing was the result of divine presence in their midst through strangers who turn out to be heavenly visitors. The story draws on the ancient belief of theoxeny – that the gods visited the earth in disguise in order to test the generosity of human hearts. Thus, Abraham and Sarah receive divine blessings and the confirmation of God’s promises through an act of hospitality. This occasion is recalled in Hebrews 13:2: “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it.”

In the Gospel of John, Jesus is depicted as the Stranger from Heaven par excellence.1 He came into the world through the Incarnation, yet the world did not know him (John 1:10). His identity was a mystery. Throughout John’s Gospel, we see how Jesus’ radical acts of hospitality reveal the presence of the divine and his true identity as the Son of God and Savior of the world.2

For example, at a wedding in Cana, Jesus is transformed from guest to host in his miraculous provision of good wine for the feast (John 2:1–11). By taking up the symbolic role of bridegroom, he reveals his glory and his disciples believed in him. On another occasion, Jesus boldly asks a Samaritan woman for water (John 4:4–42). Again, he reverses roles by offering her “living water” through faith in him as the long-awaited Messiah. The miracle of feeding the 5000 (John 6:1–14) provides yet another occasion for Jesus to extend divine hospitality. In offering the “bread of life” to the hungry crowds, he reveals himself as both source and content of the gift of eternal life to all who take and eat. Then, at his last meal with the disciples, Jesus performs an act of hospitality that shocks his followers (John 13:1–17). The job of washing the guests’ feet was normally done by slaves or servants, never by the host. In taking the role of a servant, he prepares his disciples for his sacrifice on the Cross, commanding them to love one another as he has loved them. As Joshua Jipp aptly puts it, “The mission of this heavenly stranger is to reveal God, to make him known to us, and to impart saving relational knowledge of God to humanity.”3

In the Parable of the Last Judgment in Matthew 25, hospitality to strangers takes on a new meaning for fol- lowers of Christ. Here the Son of Man as king is shown at the end times separating people into two groups like a shepherd dividing sheep and goats. The righteous are those whom he praises for taking care of him   in his time of greatest need – “I was a stranger and you welcomed me” (v. 35). They are welcomed into the kingdom. When those on his right hand express surprise, asking when these reported acts of mercy were performed, the king responds, “Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me” (v. 40). Those on the left side are sent to eternal punishment for refusing to help the king in his time of greatest need. They too express surprise and claim never to have encountered him in such circumstances. The king answers, “Truly I tell you, just as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me” (v. 45).

This passage is remarkable in its depiction of a theoxeny or divine visitation that is simultaneously positive and negative. Christ comes as a needy visitor to test the character of mortals, who are later judged according to their earlier treatment of him when he was in disguise. Those who pass the test will receive not only a reward, but eternal life. Those who fail the test will be punished accordingly. On the Judgment Day, actions taken will speak louder than words. American scholar Christine Pohl calls Matthew 25:31–46 the most important pas- sage for the entire tradition of Christian hospitality as it “personally and powerfully connects hospitality toward human beings with care for Jesus.”4

© Refugee Ministry Group 2020
 

SUBSCRIBE:​​

TUESDAY - SUNDAY

09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

EMAIL

OFFICE HOUR

Subscribe for Updates