滯港難民的見証

“伊娃”
告訴我們你的故事:

感謝提交!

或寫信給我們:

難民管理組@gmail.com

我因為一個土地的爭執而被迫離開了東非,我在當地購買了 一片土地,計劃興建物業以賺取收入。可是,有些壞人為了 搶去那片土地而恐嚇我,甚至將我綁架,他們將我棄置在路 中心,我幸運地能夠回到自己的小鎮。然而,我繼續不斷地 受到恐嚇,他們威脅我,若我不把土地交給他們,我的生命 有危險。因此,我需要離開我的家鄉。由於我的小孩子沒有 旅遊證件,我需要把他留下來,寄托鄰居照顧。

 

這小孩子的父親那時候在中國做生意,因此我到那裡去了。 我認識香港,只是因為我來過續辦簽證。不久之後,我的伴 侶在香港被捕,我被迫到街頭乞食。當時有一個中國人好像 很願意幫忙,但我完全不知道他是名便衣警察!我因非法「 工作」而被捕,並在獄中渡過了一個月。在獄中有一個職員 告訴我,我可以從聯合國難民署申請庇護,我就是這樣認識 基督教勵行會難民服務中心及其他幫助庇護者的團體。

 

在香港的這十年,我生了兩個孩子,我在非洲的孩子後來跟 我們團聚。可惜我跟孩子的父親分開了,我現今需要為三個 孩子付全責,這一點也不容易。

 

我們第一個住所在佐敦,九龍祐寧堂的對面,我感謝神為我 安排這教會,讓我更深的認識神,並能夠更親近神。我學 會了寬恕。以前若有人冒犯我,我就會跟他說「我再不想 認識你,我討厭你!」但自從去了九龍佑寧堂的難民團契 (Peacemaking Fellowship),我看到神如何改變我,我 們都需要互相幫助。以前,我會跟一些人外出喝酒來忘記煩 惱,現在,我學會相信神,把希望寄託予祂,我已經有三年 沒有喝酒了。

 

作為一個單親媽媽,我面對很大的壓力,我每一晚只能睡兩至三個小時,我需 要煮食、做家務,並憂慮金錢。我每一個月要籌約三千港元的幼稚園費用,才 可以讓我最小的孩子就學。我也需要尋找方法支付教科書和校服的費用,以及 接送孩子的交通費。你知道這會令一個媽媽發瘋的嗎?

 

感謝神為我預備這教會!讓我有愛我及我孩子的人。這令我變得堅強,及鼓勵 我做正確的事,以致不會令牧師及教會的朋友失望,我知道他們會照顧我及我 的孩子。你知道嗎?你是不能一個人單獨地在香港生活的。

 

我看不到我的未來,我只是為神而活。當然,如果非洲的土地爭執能夠解決, 我會選擇回鄉。去年,我家鄉的報紙報導了關於我土地的情況,我的親戚嘗試 處理這問題之後被殺,我的兄弟也因此失蹤,所以我不能回去。我能夠堅強是 因爲神幫助我,並仁慈地對我。我在母胎中的時候祂已經認識我,我到香港之 前祂已經熟識我。我經常向神祈求「主,掌管我,如果這是祢的意願,讓香港 恩待我和我的孩子吧。」

訂閱更新

恭喜!您已訂閱。

“亨利”

我想分享我在香港生活的經歷,我在這三年間遇到不少困難。我和我家人來自 中東,剛到港的時候,我們不認識任何人,我的英語亦不流利,我們用了很多 時間才能適應這新居住環境。香港的教育亦跟我來自的地方很不同,為了維 持我已有的教育程度,我承受了很多痛苦及面對了很多挫折。另一難處就是居 住環境,香港的生活成本很高,我作為長子,我感覺到我有責任維持我家人的 生活水平。但是,基於各種因素,我不能工作,這意味着我沒有收入。總括而 言,在一個全新的國家尋求庇護是相當不容易的。

 

我在香港修讀了不少課程,一年前,我被揀選修讀一個名為「解決」(“Resolve”) 的課程,這課程是關於香港的公義和種族平等的。我學會了如何合法 11 滯港難民的見証 12 地爭取人權及怎樣成為群體的領袖,這是一個很好的經驗。數月前,我完成了 「解 決」(“Resolve”) 課程。在香港祐寧堂,我參加了啟發(ALPHA)課程,我對基督宗 教加深了認識,這些都是很奇妙的機會。

 

我努力地克服困難,我盡我所能去學習語言與身邊的人交流,我已在這新的城市與許 多人建立了和睦的關係。我視這所有困難為挑戰,因為我認為這是一個挑戰,而我想 戰勝它。

 

香港的基督徒群體和難民有很好的交流,更會盡力幫助他們。我和香港祐寧堂建立了 很好的關係,這教會成為了我身體的一部分,因為他們會幫助我,令我感到很快樂。 我感覺到有一隻眼在看顧我,並誠實地對待我,這為我帶來了改變,我認識到令我家 鄉所沒有的人性。我相信愛、和平、互相支持、自由等價值來自神,亦來自基督徒群 體。

 

我希望完成高中課程,盡我所能繼續學習,我亦正在尋找晉升大學的資助。你或許知 道在港的尋求庇護者是沒有收入的,這樣我該怎樣繼續學業呢?我相信在主裏沒有不 可能的,祂會為我提供道達夢想的路。我也希望用我的知識、教育和經驗幫助我的群 體,我希望在中東爭取人權和自由,因那裡的人缺乏自由。

 

靈性上,我想分享我在香港的經歷。我們需要教育世界各地的人們關於基督宗教的 事,尤其是在中東地區,因為我們對基督宗教有誤解。我的意思是說基督教在中東有 一個錯誤的形象。但對我來說,因我有機會生活在基督徒中間,我發現他們並不像我 所學那般。我看到的是他們呼籲愛與和平,他們亦樂於助人,這些都是中東需要的, 我願意在全世界傳播愛與和平。對於我來說,人性是先要的,若我們有了人性,我們 就會發現愛與和平是很容易做到的。這是我想分享的,願上帝保佑你們。

艾達

Ada 來自埃塞俄比亞,比大多數尋求庇護者的處理速度更快……大約需要 3 年時間。雖然她在香港的掙扎就像大多數尋求庇護者和難民一樣,但她害怕的一件事就是她最終會在哪裡。她會被送到某個地方(在她的情況下是加拿大)到一個完全陌生的地方,不認識任何人,也不知道那裡的生活對她來說是什麼。雖然一些尋求庇護者可能喜歡這種前景,但不知道這些事情也會令人擔憂。這是艾達關於她在加拿大重新安置的故事。

 

2014 年 10 月,聯合國通知我,我將於 12 月被派往卡爾加里。我在那裡不認識任何人,但是當我告訴我在 RiverGrace International Christian Fellowship 的牧師時,他提到他以前的一個學生住在那裡。他確信當我到達時他會願意幫助我。果然,他和我開始通過 Facebook 與他交流。他願意幫助我,他的家人甚至想在聖誕節期間接待我,這樣我就不會孤單了。

 

在我離開前兩個月,聯合國說我不去卡爾加里,而是去哈利法克斯。我被摧毀了,因為我在那裡不認識任何人,也不認識我認識的任何人。我和牧師的妻子一起祈禱,她提醒我上帝允許我離開我的國家,即使我不知道它是什麼,上帝也為我制定了計劃。雖然我仍然害怕我到達時會做什麼,但我試著相信上帝會提供一個……一個朋友……願意幫助我適應的人。

 

我到達哈利法克斯大約一周後,因為我沒有開車或開車,我不得不乘坐出租車去預約。當我坐在出租車上時,我開始與出租車司機交談。他也來自埃塞俄比亞。

 

我和他說得越多,他就越像我爸爸。聊得越來越多,出租車司機竟然是我多年不見的叔叔。我們家人甚至都不知道他還活著。我們最後一次聽到他的消息是來自肯尼亞的一個難民營!在我到達一周後,除了上帝之外,誰能將我們放在離家數千公里的地方?

 

在加拿大的生活經歷了起起落落,先是打工,然後申請大學完成學業,然後才習慣了加拿大的冬天。神還為我提供了埃塞俄比亞的團契,我開始覺得這是我的家。

拉科尼·威爾遜
 

我一直認為,要寫好牛的故事,就得是牛,那我該怎麼說難民呢!作為一名前難民,我覺得我有資格寫關於難民的文章。截至目前,世界難民總數約為六千萬,其中大部分來自敘利亞。

 

理解難民世界中發生的事情通常並不容易,因為他們在眾多難民中佔據了自己的空間。但在經歷了難民生活的完整循環之後,我可以謙虛地說,難民的生活夾在痛苦和喜悅之中。難民經常面臨很多不確定的痛苦,失去親人的痛苦、希望、財產、庇護所、食物、人際關係、夢想、機會、尊重、身份、分離等等,僅舉幾例。

 

成為難民的原因不僅僅是為了逃離和生存以看到另一個日出,但遠不止於此。它涉及許多情感戰爭遊戲和謎題來解決。逃離普遍存在或迫在眉睫的威脅局勢並倖存下來始終是成為難民的第一步,我們每個人都是潛在的難民。甚至耶穌基督也是難民,因為他的父母馬利亞和約瑟不得不逃離危險的境地(希律王)。

 

在大多數情況下,當人們面對悲傷時,他們面臨著不確定的痛苦,他們應該逃到未知的地方。這種期待讓人們懸而未決,總給人一種失落感——失去自尊、失去能力、失去愛、失去最初被稱為家或根的地方,失去一切,從而失去能力。

 

然而,並不是所有的難民都經歷同一個循環,還有一些難民因為他們面臨的威脅的性質而立即被承認或接受為難民,例如,洪水、地震、龍捲風等自然災害的受害者。這一群人面臨著嚴重的緊急情況,他們表現出的那種焦慮取代了像我這樣的政治難民等其他群體的焦慮,但是,儘管如此,他們都經歷了我上面提到的那種痛苦。

 

具有諷刺意味的是,儘管難民經歷了無法言說的痛苦,例如拒絕、不接受他們被迫與之互動的社區某些部分,但他們仍然找到了一些快樂和生活的意義,因為他們找到了新家,遇到了新的朋友,尋找和建立新的希望、新的文化和重新適應新生活,最重要的是安全感。

 

至於我,我一直在沉思我們的上帝是多麼偉大,以及他如何在我身上做工。我可以見證,對於等候耶和華的人,他們總能找到安息和夢想的實現。這可能看起來並不容易,但他會為你整理好,他的時機是最好的!在生活中,我們在遇到麻煩之前,都會有美好的夢想,一旦遇到麻煩,往往就會消失。聖安德烈教堂陪我走過黑暗的山谷,讓我無所畏懼。由於我從會眾那裡得到了豐富的愛和支持,我勇敢地面對尋求庇護和難民的問題。我的基督教信仰也變得更加堅定,當我現在寫作時,我很高興能和我的小孩在一起,這是我十年未見的。最後,上帝說,讓他們重聚,在這裡我們將所有的榮耀歸給他。你無法想像痛苦的眼淚已經被喜悅的眼淚所取代。我兒時駕駛飛機的夢想已經成真,還有許多其他我現在接觸到的黃金機會!

 

令人驚奇的是,上帝的計劃確實是要使我們繁榮。他一定會完成他在你身上開始的偉大工作;所以不要動搖——他會在你身邊;只要相信!

TESTIMONY OF ASYLUM SEEKERS IN HONG KONG

"EVA"
TELL US YOUR STORY:

I left East Africa because of a dispute about land. I bought the land with the plan to build property on it to generate income. However, some bad people wanted to take the land away from me. I was threatened and even kidnapped. After they dumped me on the road, I managed to get back to my town. I was continually threatened that unless I turned over the land to others, my life was in danger. I needed to leave the country. My young child had no travel documents, so I had to leave my child be- hind with neighbors.

The child’s father was doing business in China so I went there. I only knew about Hong Kong because we would come here to renew our visas. Then my partner was arrested in Hong Kong. I had no money to support myself or to buy things for my partner in jail. So I resorted to begging on the streets. One Chinese man seemed interested to help me. Little did I know that he was an undercover policeman! I was arrested for “working” illegally! I spent a month in jail. One of the officers there told me I could apply for asylum through the UNHCR. That’s how I got to know Christian Action’s Centre for Refugees and other groups that help asylum seekers.

In the 10 years I’ve been in Hong Kong, I gave birth to two more babies. My child in Africa later joined us. Sadly, I separated from the children’s father. I now have full responsibility for three children. It’s not easy at all.

Our first flat in the Jordan area was across the street from Kowloon Union Church. I thank God for the church. I know more and have gotten closer to God. I have learned about forgiveness. Before if someone did something  wrong  to me, I would say, “I don’t want to know you anymore. I hate you!” But coming to the Peacemaking Fellowship, I see how God has changed me. We all need to help each other. I used to go out drinking with some people just to forget my problems. I learned I need to trust in God and put my hope in Him. It’s been three years that I stopped drinking.

 

You know, there’s so much pressure when you are a single mother. I only sleep 2–3 hours a night. There’s the cooking and housework, and always worrying about money. I have to come up with almost HK$3000 a month for kindergarten fees before they let my youngest in school. And I have to find a way to pay for textbooks, uniforms, and my own transportation for taking the children to school and back home. It can make a mother go crazy, you know?

 

Thank God for the church! I have some people who love me and my children. It makes me strong and do what’s right so I will not disappoint the pastors and church friends. I know they will take care of me and my children. You know, when you are alone, you cannot survive in Hong Kong.

 

I don’t see my future. I’m just living for God. Of course, if the land issue could be settled in Africa, I would prefer to go back home. Last year, the situation about my land was in the newspapers in my country. My cousin was killed and my brother is missing after they tried to settle the problem. So I can’t go back yet. I stay strong because God helps me and has been kind to me. He knew me from the time I was in my mother’s womb, He knew me before I was ever in Hong Kong. I always pray, “Lord, take control of me, and if it be Your will, let Hong Kong favor me and my kids.”
 

Subscribe for Updates

"HENRY"

I would like to share the experiences of my life in Hong Kong. I have faced many difficulties in the last three years. When I came with my family to Hong Kong from the Middle East,  I did not know anyone or anything. I had zero English proficiency. It took me a long time to adapt to the new living environment. How schools educate in Hong Kong is also very different compared to my country. In an attempt to maintain my level of academic achievements, I suffered and felt upset and frustrated. Another difficulty is the living situation. The cost of living is very expensive in Hong Kong. I am the eldest son and feel responsible to maintain the quality of living for my family. However, for many reasons, I do not work which means I have no income. All in all, it is certainly not easy when you move to a completely new country seeking asylum.

 

I have joined many courses in Hong Kong, however, a year ago I was selected to join a course called “Resolve.” It’s about justice and racial equality in Hong Kong. I acquired knowledge in how I can fight for human rights legally and how to become a leader in my community. That was incredible. I just graduated from Resolve a few months ago. At Union Church Hong Kong, I joined the ALPHA course and I learnt more about Christianity. These are amazing opportunities. I have worked hard to overcome difficulties. I try my best to learn the language so I can communicate with people around me. I have developed harmonious relationships with many people in this new city. I see all these difficulties as challenges because I think this is a challenge for me and I want to win it.

 

The Christian community in Hong Kong has good contacts with refugees and helps them as best they can. I have a very good relationship with Union Church Hong Kong. This church has become part of my body because they help me and I am very happy. I feel that there is one eye looking after me and caring for me and being honest. This has helped make changes and I have learned about the humanity that we missed in my country. And I believe that these values come to us – love, peace, support and freedom – are from God and from those in the Christian community.

 

My dreams are to complete my high school education. I am doing my best to continue studying and I am looking for support to get to University. As you know, people seeking asylum here have no income – how can I continue my study? I believe that nothing is difficult for God. He will provide me a way to achieve my dream and I would like to help my community by my knowledge, education and experiences. I would like to fight for human rights in the Middle East, fight for freedom. People there are missing freedom.
 

Spiritually, I would like to share from my experience of Hong Kong. We need to educate people around the world about Christianity, especially in the Middle East, because there is a misconception of what we have learned about Christianity. What I mean is that there is a false image of Christianity. But for me, I got a chance to live among them, and I discovered that they are not as I learned. What I have seen is that they call for peace, for love, and want to help, which is what we need in the Middle East. I am willing to work on spreading the love and peace throughout all the world. For me, humanity goes first and if we have the humanity we will find the love and peace will be easy. This is what I want to share. God bless you all.

ADA

Ada came from Ethiopia and was processed more quickly than most asylum seekers… in about 3 years. While her struggles here in Hong Kong were like most asylum seekers and refugees, one of the things she was fearful about was where she would end up. She would be sent somewhere (Canada in her case) to a place that was completely unfamiliar, not knowing anyone, and not knowing what life would hold for her there. While some of the asylum seekers may relish that prospect, it can also be worrisome not knowing these things. This is Ada’s story regarding her resettlement in Canada. 

In October 2014, the United Nations informed me that I would be sent to Calgary in December. I did not know anyone there, but when I told my pastor at RiverGrace International Christian Fellowship, he mentioned that one of his former students lived there. He was sure he would be willing to help me out when I arrived. Sure enough, he was and I started communicating with him via Facebook. He was willing to help me out and his family even wanted to host me at Christmas time so I would not be alone. 

 

Two months before I was to leave, the UN said that I was not going to Calgary but to Halifax. I was devastated since I did not know anyone there nor did anyone that I knew. I prayed with the pastor’s wife and she reminded me that God had allowed me to get out of my country and that God did have a plan for me even if I did not know what it was. Though I was still fearful of what I would do when I arrived, I tried to have faith that God would provide someone… a friend… who would be willing to help me get adjusted. 

 

About a week after I arrived in Halifax, as I did not drive or have a car, I had to take a taxi to an appointment. As I was riding in the cab I started talking to the cab driver. He was also from Ethiopia. 

 

The more I talked to him the more he looked a little bit like my dad. As we talked more, the cab driver turned out to be my uncle whom I had not seen for some years. Our family did not even know that he was alive. The last we heard from him was from a refugee camp in Kenya! Who, but God could put us together thousands of kilometers from home just a week after I arrived? 

 

Life in Canada has had its ups and downs with working a bit, then applying to university to finish my education, and just getting used to winters in Canada. God also provided me with an Ethiopian fellowship, and I’m beginning to feel that this is my home. 

LAKONY WILSON

I have always believed that to be in a proper position to write a story about a cow one needs to be a cow, so what shall I say about a refugee! As a former refugee, I feel I am in a proper position to write about a refugee. As per now the total number of world refugees stands at about sixty million of which the majority are from Syria. 

 

It’s commonly not easy to comprehend what happens in the world of refugees as they take their own space amongst the many. But after going full circle of a refugee life, I can humbly state that the life of refugees are sandwiched with both PAIN and JOY. A refugee is more often than not faced with a lot of pain of uncertainty, pain of losing loved ones, hope, belongings, shelters, food, relationships, dreams, opportunities, respect, identity, separations to mention but just a few. 

 

The reason for becoming a refugee is NOT only the striving to escape and survive to see another sunrise, but it’s much more than that. It involves a lot of emotional war games and puzzles to solve. Escaping and surviving a prevailing or looming threatening situation is always the first step towards becoming a refugee, and every one of us is a potential refugee. Even Jesus Christ was a refugee, for his parents Mary and Joseph had to flee the threatening situations (King Herod). 

 

In most cases, when people come face to face with grief, they are faced with the pain of uncertainly of the unknown place they ought to escape to. This kind of anticipation leaves people in suspense and always leave them with the sense of loss – loss of self-esteem, loss of capability, loss of love, loss of the place originally called home or root, loss of everything, hence, incapacitated. 

 

However, not all refugees go through the same circle, there are others who are instantly acknowledged or accepted as refugees because of the nature of the threats they are faced with, for instance, victims  of natural calamities like floods, earthquake, tornadoes etc. This group of people are faced with serious emergencies that the kind of anxieties that they exhibit supersedes those of other groups like political refugees as I was but, nevertheless, they all go through the same kind of pain I mentioned above. 

 

It’s ironic to say that although refugees go through untold sufferings like rejection, non-acceptance by some section of the community that they are forced to interact with, they still find some JOY and meaning of life as the result of finding new homes, meeting new friends, finding and building new hopes, new cultures and readjustment to new life altogether and above all feeling of SECURITY & SAFETY. 

 

As for me, I have always caught myself meditating on how great our God is and how he has been doing his work in me. I can testify that for those who wait for the LORD, they shall always find rest and fulfillment of their dreams. It might not look easy but he will put it together for you, and his timing is the best! In life before we are faced with troubles, and we have wonderful dreams which tend to fade away as soon as we face troubles. St. Andrew’s Church walked with me through the valley of darkness and made me fear no evil. I faced my problem of asylum seeking and refugee with courage because of the abundant love and support I got from the members of the congregation. My Christian faith has also become much more stronger and as I write now, I’m so joyful to be with my little kids, that I hadn’t seen in a decade. Finally, God said, let them be reunited, and here we give him all the glory. You can’t imagine that the tears of pain have been replaced by the tears of joy. And my childhood dream of flying a plane has become real plus many other golden opportunities that I’m  exposed to right now! 

 

It’s so amazing that God’s plan is indeed to prosper us. He will definitely accomplish the great work he has started in you; therefore don’t waver—he will be there for you; just believe! 

© Refugee Ministry Group 2020
 

SUBSCRIBE:​​

TUESDAY - SUNDAY

09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

EMAIL

OFFICE HOUR

Subscribe for Updates