在港的弱勢社群---
難民及尋求庇護者

IMG_5145 (1).JPG

聯合國難民署公佈在2017年全球約有六千六百萬人因 為衝突和迫害而離開家園,其中到其他國家尋求庇護 的難民有二千二百五十萬人。根據聯合國1951年發表 《關於難民地位公約》的訂明,難民(Refugee)是 「有明顯理據顯示當事人正面對種族、宗教、國籍、 因所屬社會團體或某種政見受到的迫害,而留在國 外,並且因此而不能或不願接受該國保護的人。」可 是,香港在云云已發展國家中,是罕有沒有簽署的地 方。

 

因此,香港政府並不接受難民來港定居。在獲得難民 身份之先,尋求國際保護的人被稱為尋求庇護者。香 港在1992年簽署了《禁止酷刑和其他殘忍、不人道或 有辱人格的待遇或處罰公約》,尋求保護的人也可以 透過這公約在香港申請庇護。

 

截至2018年二月,約有一萬三千人在香港尋求庇護, 當中包括等候審核的人、正在提請上訴的個案和因其 他原因而留下的人。在這一萬三千人中,他們大部份 來南亞及東南亞,其餘的來自非洲、中東及世界不同 地方。

 

從2014年3月開始,政府開始施行「統一審核機制的程序」(Unified Screening Mechanism)。從此, 在其中一條《公約》下申請保護的人需經由香港入境 署篩選。

如果在《難民公約》下的申請被核實,該申請人就會交由聯合國難民署所責 任。聯合國難民署會為這已被證實的難民安排一個願意接納他的國家讓他徙 置。但是,儘管承認,亦不確保可以徙置。《禁止酷刑公約》的成功申請人會 獲准留在香港,但他們不能透過官方途徑獲得徙置。至今少於1%的尋求庇護者 成功獲得承認。

 

「統一審核機制的程序」是一個漫長的過程。尋求庇護者需等到他的簽證過 期,然後需向入境署自首。入境署之後會向他發出擔保書(俗稱行街紙)。有了 這張擔保書,當事人可以申請社會援助,並可透過當值律師服務獲得法律支 援。

 

然而,這個審核難民身份的過程並不容易,往往要等上幾年甚至十年的時間, 令到「尋求庇護者」面臨更多的挑戰,例如生活上的問題、精神上的壓力、文 化的差異及對前途的無力感等等。

生活壓力

難民及尋求庇護者在香港沒有工作的權利,即使他們在自己國家擁有專業技 能,在香港也無法貢獻社會。香港政府透過國際社會服務社每月給他們的津貼 為生,可是在百物騰貴的香港,1500元的房屋津貼、1200元的食物卡、200-300 元的交通津貼和300元的日用品津貼等,實在不足夠。他們有些要住到新界偏遠 的寮屋及鐵皮屋,生活環境惡劣。除此之外,他們也要為到難民的審批及應付 政府機關的手續程序而四出奔波,每月的交通開支無形成為他們沉重的負擔。 不少尋求庇護者帶著小孩逃離自己的國家,也有上了年紀的人,他們在香港面 對營養不良及健康問題的挑戰。離鄉別井、異鄉的冷眼歧視、遙遙無期的難民 審核過程,加上在香港遇到的文化差異,令他們的精神長期受壓。

對難民的偏見

離開自己的家園已經不容易,靠微薄的津貼在香港生活更是難上加難,再加上 社會的歧視及誤解時,情況就更加嚴峻。香港人對難民的認識少之又少,多數 都是從報章雜誌上了解他們的情況。可是主流的媒體都常以「假難民」和「非 法入境者」來形容他們,將「犯罪」、「打黑工」及「呃福利」等概念與他們 掛鉤,卻極少提及他們面對的困難,實不公允。而在社區當中,他們也會因著 膚色及種族而受到不同程度的歧視,得不到鄰舍及社區的信任,因此再被推到 邊緣和絕境中。不同的種族和陌生的身份,加上語言文化的差異,使他們很難 與本地人溝通,因而經常遇到在服務上的差別對待。

 

關懷與分享

難民及尋求庇護者的身、心、靈都有極大的需要,可是香港支援尋求庇護者及 難民的本地團體也寥寥可數。現時本港只有少數教會及非政府組織為他們提供 簡單衣、食、經濟援助,以及心靈關懷及牧養。

BACKGROUND OF REFUGEES AND ASYLUM SEEKERS

IN HONG KONG

IMG_5145 (1).JPG

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) reports that almost 66 million persons were uproot- ed from their homes by conflict and persecution globally in 2017. Those seeking safety across international borders as refugees topped 22.5 million. According to the Refugee Convention adopted by the United Nations in 1951, a refugee is “someone who is unable or unwilling to return to their country of origin owing to a well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group, or political opinion.” Hong Kong is one of the few developed countries or regions that has yet to sign the Convention.

Because of this, Hong Kong does not accept refugees for re- settlement. Before the refugee status is granted, those seeking international protection are known as asylum seekers. Those seeking protection may also apply for asylum through the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, which Hong Kong did sign in 1992.

As of February 2018, there were almost 13,000 persons seeking asylum in Hong Kong, including those with pending claims, those who had filed an appeal, and those who have remained for other reasons. Among these 13,000, most of them are coming from South and South East Asia, with the rest coming from Africa, the Middle East, and other places of the world.

In March 2014, the government initiated the Unified Screening Mechanism (USM). Since then, applicants for protection under either Convention have been screened by the Immigration Department.

If an application under the Refugee Convention is substantiated, the applicant becomes the responsibility of the UNHCR, which after verification will then seek a country willing to accept the certified refugee for resettlement. However, even recognition does not guarantee re- settlement. Successful applicants under the Convention Against Torture will be allowed to remain in Hong Kong, but have no chance of resettlement through official channels. Less than 1% of asylum seekers have been successful in obtaining recognition.

The United Screening Mechanism can be a lengthy process. An asylum seeker has to await the expiry of his or her visa. He/she then must surrender to the Immigration Department, which will issue a Recognizance Document. With this document, he/she can apply for social assistance and will obtain the legal assistance of a lawyer through the Duty Lawyers Scheme.

The whole process is not an easy one. It can take a few years or even up to a decade. This means that asylum seekers face more challenges such as daily survival, mental stress, cultural differences and powerlessness in regards to their future.

Life Pressure

Refugees and asylum seekers do not have the right to work in Hong Kong. Even if they have professional expertise in their own country, here they are unable to contribute to the society. The Hong Kong government gives a monthly allowance through the International Social Service, but it is insufficient. With the high living cost in Hong Kong, $1500 for housing, $1200 in food card, $200–$300 for transport and $300 for utilities is not nearly enough. Some refugees and asylum seekers have to live in squatter huts or tin-roof shacks in remote areas in the New Territories under poor living conditions. In addition, monthly transportation expenses become another burden as they commute for refugee approval and procedures with government agencies. Some asylum seekers fled their country with their children and some are middle-aged. They are vulnerable to malnutrition and health problems in Hong Kong. Long term mental pressure builds up from being uprooted to a foreign land, being subject to prejudice, coping with the lengthy review procedures, and dealing with cultural differences encountered in Hong Kong.

 

Prejudice against Refugees

It is already difficult to leave one’s homeland. If you add living in Hong Kong with minimal allowance and facing social discrimination and misunderstanding, the situation is even harsher. Hong Kong people are not familiar with refugees. Most residents gain their knowledge about them only through newspapers and magazines. However, mainstream media often use terms such as “fake refugees” and “illegal immigrants” to refer to refugees, furthering the impression that these people are associated with “crime”, “unauthorized employment” and “welfare fraud”. Rarely is there mention of the difficulties they face, which is not really fair. They suffer various degrees of discrimination due to their skin color and ethnic identity, and lack of trust from their neighborhood and the community. Thus, they are pushed to the brink of despair. Being of a different race and unknown status in the society, along with the difference in language and culture, it is hard for them to communicate with local people and often they receive a lower standard of service.

Caring and Sharing
Refugees and asylum-seekers have great needs in terms of body, mind and spirit. But sadly there are very few local support groups for them. At present, there are only a small number of churches and non-governmental organizations that provide them with basic clothing, food, and financial assistance, as well as spiritual and pastoral care.