關懷難民的
神學反省

IMG_5145 (1).JPG

在眾新來者中,急切需要接待的就是那些因為迫在眉睫的危險而要逃離他們家 園的人。難民與尋求庇護者的問題為社會及教會帶來巨大的挑戰,基督徒要如 何回應呢?

 

Luke Bretherton,一個英國的倫理學家論證,我們對上主忠信的回應就須承 認,無論遠或近的難民,都是從上帝來的禮物、上帝的審判及上帝的應許。

 

• 難民作為上主的禮物,肯定了每一個人都是按神的形象,獨特地被造的。 每一個人都擁有不同的身位、尊嚴和權利去與其他人溝通和建立關係。教 會關愛的職責包括創造一個讓尋求庇護的人得到尊重的環境,並給予他們 機會作回自己。

 

• 難民作為上主的審判,對人類慣常排斥不同人士的習性提出質疑。教會以 歡迎及包容那些因我們貪婪的罪和被偶像化的安全感,而成為袒露生命的 人作為回應。

 

• 難民作為上主的應許,把難民及尋求庇護者的生命帶進神國的盼望中。在 活出尊上帝的名為聖的祈禱中,教會重置舊有的社會關係和建立新的公共 友誼,在此時此地見證上帝的掌權介入。這應許需要教會和難民及尋求庇 護者雙方彼此的犧牲和改變才能實現。

 

投身難民事工絕對是充滿挑戰的,但當我們發現難民和尋求庇護者都是上帝的兒 女,而不論他們的移民狀況,都在神的公義和赦免下,這任務就會變得更清晰。 當我們記起付出的款待和家並不是屬於我們的時候,歡迎新來者其實可以不令人 怯步。那些都是屬於神的。這樣,難民事工只是延伸上帝的款待,由耶穌到「最 小一個」身上,作為一個信心的行動、盼望的記號和一個去愛的時機。

THEOLOGICAL REFLECTIONS ON THE CARE FOR REFUGEES

Among the strangers in urgent need of hospitality are those fleeing their homeland because of imminent danger to their lives. The issue of refugees and asylum seekers poses a great challenge to the society and the Church. How should Christians respond?

Luke Bretherton, a British ethicist, argues that a faithful response must acknowledge refugees near and far as God’s gift, God’s judgment and God’s promise.

•    Refugees as God’s gift recognizes that every human being is a unique individual created in the image of God. Each possesses distinct identity, dignity and the right to communicate and relate with others. The Church’s duty of care involves creating places where persons seeking asylum are treated with respect and given opportunities to act on their own behalf.


•    Refugees as God’s judgment calls into question the human tendency toward exclusion as a response to those who are different. The Church makes a counter response of welcome and inclusion to those who have been reduced to bare life due to our sins of greed and idolatrous security.


•    Refugees as God’s promise includes the lives of refugees and asylum seekers in the hope of the kingdom of God. The Church reconfigures former social relationships and develops new public friendships to witness to the in-breaking of God’s reign here and now. This promise requires mutual sacrifice and change on the part of both the Church and the refugees and asylum seekers.5


Refugee ministry can be a challenging endeavor. Yet, the task becomes clearer when we realize that refugees and asylum seekers as children of God are also subjects of divine justice and forgiveness, regardless of their immigration status. Welcoming the stranger then is not so daunting when we remember that the hospitality and home we offer are not our own. They belong to God. Therefore, refugee ministry is simply the extending of God’s hospitality in Jesus Christ to the ‘least of these’ as an act of faith, a sign of hope, and a time to love.

© Refugee Ministry Group 2020
 

SUBSCRIBE:​​

TUESDAY - SUNDAY

09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

EMAIL

OFFICE HOUR

Subscribe for Updates